La Blogothèque » Séries » Still Room Sessions http://en.blogotheque.net Wed, 09 Aug 2017 14:33:42 +0000 en-US hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.8.1-alpha Iain Archer http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/24/iain-archer-2/ http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/24/iain-archer-2/#comments Thu, 24 Oct 2013 14:00:11 +0000 http://blogotheque.net/?p=21580 That song, which I have listened to probably more than a hundred times, is for me so much a monument to folk simplicity, when a melody and a voice can move you more than reason.

We caught up with Iain Archer during his appearance at the Bushmills music festival at the end of last June. Nestled to the extreme north of Ulster, the festival takes place within the same walls as the distillery itself; the occasion was too beautiful not to take Iain with us for a tour amongst the barrels of ageless whiskey… Originally from Bangor near to Belfast, he appeared to take evident pleasure from seeing the manufacturing of pure local malt up close.

Over the course of the route, Iain was improvising, going even as far as to start a ‘whisky river’, a version of which we hope to find recorded one day… We finally came to “Room n°2″, a room made of wood, filled with the ageing barrels of Bushmills; in short, a place full of promises. He began by playing us Canal Song and once again I found, pure, the emotion that had assailed me with every listen to those first harmonies. Then he started to play Black Mountain Quarry and I was convinced that folk music – a guitar and a voice – was certainly one of the most simple and most beautiful things that a person can hear.

]]>
http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/24/iain-archer-2/feed/ 0
Of Monsters and Men http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/17/of-monsters-and-men-3/ http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/17/of-monsters-and-men-3/#comments Thu, 17 Oct 2013 13:30:46 +0000 http://blogotheque.net/?p=21470 It was the day that François, the new pope, was to be inaugurated; holy men were to be found strolling on every via, street or strata; a helicopter hovered over the distant Piazza San Pietro.

Of Monsters And Men were playing later that night and were experiencing the extraordinariness for themselves, having arrived from Bologna the previous evening. Accompanied by our friends from the Bushmills Irish Whiskey brand, we took the opportunity to film a Still Room Session, a unique and one off moment with the seven friends in a Rome that was buzzing with energy.

For once, we found ourselves in the same situation as the group: having arrived just hours ago in a city foreign to us, we had to improvise, take everything as it came to us with only intuition to guide our choice of locations that we hoped would complement the fantastical music of Of Monsters And Men.

We met up at the top of one of Rome’s abundant hills with the idea that, in any case, it would be easier to wander back down into the city in search of an appropriate place to film.

Upon their arrival, Nanna and Ragnar, the group’s two singers, confirmed our intuitions: they also wanted to amble about the city. We caught them in the middle of an exceptionally long tour, 12 months that would carry them across 4 continents to finish in the United States in October, and they came to us with the firm intention to see as much of the eternal city as possible in their few free hours.

Questioning Nanna about these interminable tours–of which this is the sixth–she replied that she likes the promiscuity of being on the road, sharing every moment with her bandmates, many of whom are old friends that she’s worked with in the past.

One has the impression that with Nanna, music is a family affair, and that for her the success of a band’s vocal contingent lies in an attitude of collusion.

Once everyone is adequately equipped, we set off to stroll in Rome with a collective bent towards spontaneity. The uptempo attitude of the group, their overall kindness is quite hard to pass over without admiring. Very soon after, we test the natural acoustics.

At last, it’s in a little piazza near Trastevere, at the intersection of multiple side streets and back alleys that the adequate location reveals itself. The band stops to practice ‘Dirty Paws’ in the middle of a flotilla of pedestrians, first stunned then charmed by the sound of the first few timid measures. In no time, percussion and vocal harmonies take hold of the song and resonate in this place from another age: we are in Rome, at the center of the world. The music of Iceland’s vast spaces echoes between these walls that ancient history built.

On the way back, I asked Anna how the group had felt during those moments, whether they were accustomed to this genre of exercise. She was content simply to smile: it was a moment, un bel instant ensemble.

]]>
http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/17/of-monsters-and-men-3/feed/ 0
Bear’s Den http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/09/bears-den/ http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/09/bears-den/#comments Wed, 09 Oct 2013 14:39:42 +0000 http://blogotheque.net/?p=21488 There, the countryside is always green, the sheep well fed and the sea is dramatically torn up by a coast which served as the set for some of the greatest scenes of Game of Thrones.

Some kilometres from the distillery we find the Giant’s Causeway, basalt formations which throw themselves into the sea and form a breathtaking landscape. And as Bear’s Den have some free time that afternoon, we decide to take a car and make a tour.

 

That was at the end of the day, the tourists had gone home and we had the site at our disposition. Settled facing the sea, Bear’s Den started up ‘Sophie’, a title from their next album which is expected for the end of the year. They were alone, both isolated from the tumult and strongly connected to each other. In the distance we could see Scotland, and the polyphony of their harmonies worked wonders in this scenery of the end of the world.

After the music stopped, we all had the feeling that something special had happened; and to stay a bit longer on the Causeway together was the opportunity to extend this magic moment.

]]>
http://en.blogotheque.net/2013/10/09/bears-den/feed/ 0

La Blogothèque » Séries » Still Room Sessions http://www.blogotheque.net Wed, 17 Jan 2018 12:34:11 +0000 fr-FR hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.8.1-alpha Iain Archer http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/24/iain-archer/ http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/24/iain-archer/#comments Thu, 24 Oct 2013 15:37:22 +0000 http://blogotheque.net/?p=21743 C’est par Canal Song que j’ai d’abord découvert Iain Archer. Cette chanson, je l’ai probablement écoutée plus d’une centaine de fois, tant elle est pour moi un monument de simplicité folk, lorsqu’une mélodie et une voix peuvent vous émouvoir plus que de raison.

Nous sommes venus trouver Iain Archer à l’occasion de son passage au festival de musique Bushmills, à la fin de juin dernier. Niché à l’extrême nord de l’Ulster, le festival se joue dans l’enceinte même de la distillerie; l’occasion était trop belle de prendre Iain avec nous pour faire un tour au milieu des tonneaux de whisky sans âge…Lui même, originaire de Bangor près de Belfast, semblait prendre un plaisir évident à voir de près la fabrication du pur malt local.

En cours de route, Iain improvisait, allant même jusqu’à nous entamer un “whisky river” dont nous espérons bien qu’un jour on en trouvera une version enregistrée…Nous sommes finalement parvenus à la “Room n°2″, une pièce boisée, remplie des tonneaux de vieillissement de Bushmills, un endroit plein de promesses en somme. Il a commencé par nous jouer Canal Song, et je retrouvais, pure, l’émotion qui m’assaillait à chaque écoute de ces premiers accords. Et puis, il a entamé Blackmountain Quarry, et je me suis convaincu que la musique folk, une guitare et une voix, était certainement une des choses les plus simples et les plus belles que l’on pouvait entendre.

]]>
http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/24/iain-archer/feed/ 0
Of Monsters and Men http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/17/of-monsters-and-men/ http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/17/of-monsters-and-men/#comments Thu, 17 Oct 2013 14:01:20 +0000 http://blogotheque.net/?p=21724 Lorsqu’on a débarqué à Rome, on était un peu déphasé. C’était précisément le jour de l’intronisation du nouveau pape François, des hommes d’églises déambulaient dans toute la ville, un hélicoptère au loin, faisait un survol stationnaire de la place Saint Pierre.

On devait retrouver les six membres de Of Monsters And Men en début d’après-midi. Le groupe fraîchement arrivé la veille de Bologne nous proposait de passer une partie de la journée avec eux pour filmer un Concert à emporter avant leur concert du soir.

Pour une fois, on s’est retrouvé dans la même situation que le groupe: arrivés dans une ville que l’on ne connaissait pas quelques heures avant, nous devions improviser, prendre la ville à bras le corps et sentir quels lieux seraient les plus adaptés à la musique onirique des Of Monsters And Men.

Rendez-vous fut pris au sommet d’une des multiples collines de Rome, avec l’idée que dans tous les cas, il serait toujours plus facile de déambuler en descente à la recherche d’un endroit approprié.

A leur arrivée, Nanna et Ragnar, les deux chanteurs du groupe, confirmèrent notre intuition: eux aussi avaient envie de flâner pour sentir la ville. Nous les prenions au milieu d’une très longue tournée, 12 mois qui les emmèneront sur 4 continents pour finir aux Etats Unis en octobre, et ils étaient bien décidés à profiter de ces quelques heures pour entrevoir un bout de la ville éternelle.

Questionnant Nanna sur ces tournées interminables, surtout à six, elle nous répond aimer cette promiscuité, goûter ces moments passés avec les autres membres du groupe, dont beaucoup sont des amis avec qui elle avait déjà joué dans ses formations précédentes.

On sent bien que chez elle, la musique est une affaire de famille et que le succès de la formation chorale repose sur une vraie connivence.

Une fois tous le monde équipé, nous partons pour une balade dans Rome sur un air d’improvisation. Le plaisir manifeste du groupe, sa gentillesse sont communicatifs et très vite, nous testons les acoustiques naturelles. Finalement, c’est une petite place dans le quartier du Trastevere, à la croisée de multiples ruelles qui se révèlera le lieu adéquat. Le groupe s’arrête et entame ‘Dirty Paws’ au milieu des passants, étonnés puis charmés à l’écoute des premiers accords timides. Très vite, percussions et choeurs s’emparent de la chanson et résonnent dans cet espace d’un autre âge: nous sommes à Rome, au centre du monde, et l’espace d’un instant ces murs à l’histoire ancestrales font écho à la musique des espaces interminables de l’Islande.

Sur le chemin du retour, je demandais à Anna comment  le groupe avaient vécu ces instants, s’ils étaient rompus à ce genre d’exercice. Elle se contenta de répondre par un grand sourire: c’était un instant, un bel instant ensemble.

]]>
http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/17/of-monsters-and-men/feed/ 0
Bear’s Den http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/09/bears-den-2/ http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/09/bears-den-2/#comments Wed, 09 Oct 2013 14:49:59 +0000 http://blogotheque.net/?p=21710 …  là où la campagne est toujours verte, les moutons bien nourris et la mer dramatiquement déchirée par une côte qui a servi de décor à quelques unes des plus grandes scènes de Game of Thrones.

A quelques kilomètres de la distillerie, on trouve le Giant Causeway, des formations de basaltes qui se jettent dans la mer et forment un paysage à couper le souffle. Et comme Bear’s Den avait du temps libre cet après-midi là, nous avons décidé de prendre la voiture pour aller y faire un tour.

C’était en fin de journée, les touristes étaient repartis et nous avions le site à disposition. Installés face à la mer, les Bear’s Den ont entamé ‘Sophie’, un titre de leur prochain album attendu pour la fin de l’année. Ils étaient seuls, isolés du tumulte, au loin on voyait l’Ecosse, et la polyphonie de leurs harmonies faisait merveille dans ce décor de bout du monde.

]]>
http://blogotheque.net/2013/10/09/bears-den-2/feed/ 0