La Blogothèque

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E08 | August mix

Oops, we’re late again, but Fractured Air August mix is there, featuring James Holden & The Animal Spirits, This Is How We Fly, Julie Byrne, Four Tet, Grouper, Rafael Anton Irisarri, LCD Soundsystem and many more.

Each month, Craig and Mark from Irish music website Fractured Air will curated an exclusive mix on Blogothèque with old favourites, new comers, excerpts of interviews and premieres.
Listen to previous episodes -


August’s mixtape features a pair of tracks from This Is How We Fly’s eagerly-anticipated second album Foreign Fields, due for release on 15th September 2017. The four-piece comprise the renowned musicians: Petter Berndalen (drums), Nic Gareiss (percussive dance), Seán Mac Erlaine (clarinets, electronics) and Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh (hardanger d’amore fiddles). Hailing from Ireland, Sweden and USA, the quartet draw upon a rich tapestry of sounds and traditions, drawing upon the raw energy and rich dynamism of jazz and its true spirit of improvisation, together with traditional music’s eternal affinity and appreciation for honing and perfecting one’s craft. Foreign Fields is a joy to behold, its soul-stirring music navigates new sonic terrain while continually pushing its four composers to reach for new heights, forever onwards and upwards for this most inventive and mythical of bands.

UK producer James Holden’s The Inheritors (Border Community, 2013) was one of this century’s finest records, an album for modern times created by one of the most consistently innovative and singular artists making music today. With the announcement that it’s long-awaited follow-up, The Animal Spirits (due for release on 3rd November once again via Holden’s own Border Community label), it is bound to rise to the surface on many an end-of-year lists come December. The album (described as “synth-led folk-trance standards”) features Holden’s newly assembled group of “fellow travellers”, James Holden & The Animal Spirits. The personnel comprises long-time collaborators Tom Page and Etienne Jaumet, as well as Marcus Hamblett, Liza Bec and Lascelle Gordon. The album’s lead single, “Pass Through The Fire” has so far been unveiled, the track having been inspired by his 2014 trip to Morocco to work with late Gnawa music legend Maalem Mahmoud Guinia. James Holden was also recently added to the special guest curatorial program at this November’s Le Guess Who? Festival at Utrecht, where he has invited such stellar musicians as Serbia’s Mario Batkovic and Canada’s Jerusalem In My Heart to his lineup.

August’s mix also features new releases from: Julie Byrne’s Not Even Happiness (Basin Rock); Four Tet’s latest essential single for his Text imprint, “Planet”; Grouper’s new track “Children” (taken from her Ruins album sessions); Rafael Anton Irisarri’s mesmerising The Shameless Years (Umor Rex) and Hype Williams’ Rainbow Edition (Big Dada Recordings).

01. Psychic TV – “Just Drifting” (WEA, Some Bizzare)
02. Moor Mother – “Valley of Dry Bones” (Don Giovanni)
03. Mica Levi & Oliver Coates – “I’ll Keep Going” (Slip)
04. Hype Williams – “#Blackcardsmatter” (Big Dada Recordings)
05. Lee Gamble – “Istian” (Hyperdub)
06. Rhythm & Sound with Cornel Campbell – “King In My Empire” (Soul Jazz)
07. Ken Parker – “My Whole World Is Falling Down” (Heartbeat)
08. This Is How We Fly – “Tí Mór” (Self-Released)
09. Laurel Halo – “Who Won?” (Hyperdub)
10. James Holden & The Animal Spirits – “Pass Through The Fire” (Border Community)
11. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – “To Follow And Lead” (Western Vinyl)
12. SAICOBAB – “Bx Ax Bx” (Thrill Jockey)
13. Snapped Ankles – “Hanging With The Moon” (The Leaf Label)
14. Ex Eye – “Xenolith; the Anvil” (Relapse)
15. Suicide – “Cheree” (Red Star)
16. Four Tet – “Planet” (Text)
17. Washed Out – “Down and Out” (Stones Throw)
18. Mariah – “Shinzo No Tobira” (Palto Flats, Columbia)
19. LCD Soundsystem – “tonite” (DFA, Columbia)
20. Severed Heads – “Dead Eyes Opened” (Dark Entries)
21. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – “Echoing Green” (Mexican Summer)
22. Rafael Anton Irisarri – “Sky Burial” (Umor Rex)
23. This Will Destroy You – “The Puritan” (Julianna Barwick Remix) (Suicide Squeeze)
24. Grouper – “Children” (Bandcamp)
25. Benoît Pioulard – “Rook” (Beacon Sound)
26. Julie Byrne – “Natural Blue” (Basin Rock, Ba Da Bing!)
27. This Is How We Fly – “Fjellvant” (Self-Released)
28. Do Make Say Think – “Shlomo’s Son” (Constellation)


Fractured Air is an online music webzine based in Cork, Ireland, which focuses on the best of independent music. Having started in July 2012, Fractured Air offers in-depth interviews, insightful reviews, original artwork and frequent mixes (including guest mixes), spanning the broad spectrum of today’s independent music scene.

Compiled by Fractured Air, August 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.