La Blogothèque

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E07 | July mix

Oops, we’re late but Fractured Air July mix is there, featuring Colleen, Martyn Heyne, Four Tet, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Daphni and many more.

Each month, Craig and Mark from Irish music website Fractured Air will curated an exclusive mix on Blogothèque with old favourites, new comers, excerpts of interviews and premieres.
– Listen to previous episodes 


July saw the highly-anticipated return of world-renowned French composer Colleen (aka Cécile Schott) with her achingly beautiful new single “Separating”, taken from the forthcoming A flame my love, a frequency out October 20th via Thrill Jockey. On her new album, Schott’s viola da gamba – used on her last two records Captain of None and The Weighing Of The Heart – is replaced by solely electronic instrumentation: Moog pedals and Critter and Guitari synthesizers. The result is yet another otherworldly, far-reaching sonic odyssey from this visionary solo artist.

Following on from last year’s exceptional debut mini-album Shady & Light, Hamburg-born and Berlin-based multi-instrumentalist and producer Martyn Heyne has unveiled his stunning new single “Carry”, taken from the forthcoming solo debut album (coming out later this year on the neo-classical imprint 7K!). The divine guitar-based compositions crafted by Heyne carves out a ceaselessly rich listening experience for the here-and-now.

Elsewhere on July’s mix we have new releases from Montreal composer Kara-Lis Coverdale (Boomkat Editions), Four Tet’s new single “Two Thousand And Seventeen” (Text), Daphni’s new fabric live set, Los Angeles composer Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith’s lead single “An Intention” (taken from the forthcoming Western Vinyl release The Kid), Jane Weaver’s krautrock-flavoured latest opus (Fire Records), Snake Eyes (the current house band in the new Twin Peaks) and UK psychedelia courtesy of Ulrika Spacek.

01. Gil Scott-Heron – “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised” (BGP)
02. Shabazz Palaces – “Welcome to Quazarz” (Sub Pop)
03. Danger Doom – “Mad Nice” (feat. Black Thought & Vinny Price) (Lex)
04. Robert Wyatt – “Shipbuilding” (Rough Trade)
05. Dean Blunt & Inga Copeland – “2” (Hyperdub)
06. Patricia – “I Know The Face, But Not The Name” (Spectral Sound)
07. Barbara Morgenstern + Werkstatt – “Grow” (Monika Enterprise)
08. Four Tet – “Two Thousand and Seventeen” (Text)
09. Daphni – “Poly” (Fabric)
10. Om Alec Khaoli – “Enjoy It” (Awesome Tapes From Africa)
11. Marijata — “I Walk Alone” (excerpt) (Mr Bongo)
12. Visible Cloaks – “Terrazzo” (feat. Motion Graphics) (RVNG Intl)
13. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – “An Intention” (Western Vinyl)
14. Avey Tare – “Season High” (Domino)
15. Deru – “1979” (Friends Of Friends)
16. Brumes – “Backward Hands” (Dauw)
17. Ulrika Spacek – “Mimi Pretend” (Tough Love)
18. Jane Weaver – “Did You See Butterflies?” (Fire)
19. Trouble – “Snake Eyes” (Sacred Bones)
20. Donnie & Joe Emerson – “Baby” (LateNightTales)
21. Balmorhea – “Clear Language” (Western Vinyl)
22. Mary Ocher – “To the Light” (Piano Version) (Klangbad)
23. Marcus Fjellström – “Aunchron” (Miasmah)
24. The Durutti Column – “Sketch For Dawn (I)” (Factory)
25. Martyn Heyne – “Carry” (7K!)
26. Kara-Lis Coverdale – “Grafts” (excerpt) (Boomkat Editions)
27. Colleen – “Separating” (Thrill Jockey)

Fractured Air is an online music webzine based in Cork, Ireland, which focuses on the best of independent music. Having started in July 2012, Fractured Air offers in-depth interviews, insightful reviews, original artwork and frequent mixes (including guest mixes), spanning the broad spectrum of today’s independent music scene.

Compiled by Fractured Air, July 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.