La Blogothèque

Fractured Air x Blogothèque – S02E06 | June mix

Fractured Air June mix is there, featuring Gorillaz, Radiohead, Grizzly Bear, Trembling Bells, The Clientele, Ariel Pink and many more.

Each month, Craig and Mark from Irish music website Fractured Air will curated an exclusive mix on Blogothèque with old favourites, new comers, excerpts of interviews and premieres.
– Listen to previous episodes 


June’s mixtape features a first listen of “Golden Plover”, Glasgow’s finest Trembling Bells’ stunning cover of the Bert Jansch song taken from his 1979 avian-themed classic Avocet. The track is part of the special 4-track EP Avocet Revisited, commissioned and issued by Fire Records’ imprint Earth Recordings, featuring Trembling Bells; Edwyn Collins and Carwyn Ellis; Modern Studies; Alasdair Roberts.
On “Golden Plover”, Trembling Bells are joined by Callum Calderwood (violin), Rory Haye (vocals), Andrew Pattie (vocals) and Belle & Sebastian’s Stevie Jackson (12 string guitar). Avocet Revisited will be released by Earth Recordings on the 11th of August 2017.

One of the UK’s finest indie bands The Clientele return with Music for the Age of Miracles (Merge Records) this Autumn, their first new album in seven years. Thus far the irresistible lead single “Lunar Days” has been unveiled, finding the beloved Alasdair MacLean-led band in typically impeccable form, effortlessly fusing a myriad of influences into miniature pop marvels like only they can.

June’s mixtape also features new releases from: Ariel Pink’s new single “Another Weekend”, from the hugely anticipated forthcoming Mexican Summer album Dedicated to Bobby Jameson; Grizzly Bear’s “Painted Ruins”, one of 2017’s most eagerly anticipated albums and follow-up to 2012’s sonic marvel Shields; Renowned Irish contemporary classical collective Crash Ensemble release their glorious Ghosts album – featuring compositions written by Nico Muhly, Donnacha Dennehy and Valgeir Sigurðsson – which is released via Icelandic independent Bedroom Community.

01. Virginia Woolf – “I. Mrs. Dalloway: Words” (Deutsche Grammophon)
02. The Beacon Sound Choir – “Can’t Wrap My Head Around It” (First Terrace)
03. Sufjan Stevens, Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly & James McAlister – “Neptune” (4AD)
04. Crash Ensemble – “Past Tundra” (Bedroom Community)
05. Fleet Foxes – “I Should See Memphis” (Nonesuch)
06. Trembling Bells – “Golden Plover” (Earth Recordings)
07. The Clientele – “Lunar Days” (Merge)
08. Bill MacKay – “Aster” (Drag City)
09. Ariel Pink – “Another Weekend” (Mexican Summer)
10. Justin Walter – “Red Cabin” (Kranky)
11. Chromatics – “Shadow” (Italians Do It Better)
12. Tobias Bernstrup – “27” (12” Version) (Dark Entries)
13. John Talabot – “Destiny” (Rave Dub Version) (Permanent Vacation)
14. Daphni – “Face to Face” (fabric)
15. Blondes – “KDM” (R&S)
16. Laurel Halo – “Moontalk” (Hyperdub)
17. Alice Coltrane – “Rama Guru” (Luaka Bop)
18. Belbury Poly – “The Geography” (Ghost Box)
19. BADBADNOTGOOD – “Lavender” (feat. KAYTRANADA & Snoop Dogg) [Nightfall Remix] (Innovative Leisure)
20. Grizzly Bear – “Three Rings” (RCA)
21. The Focus Group – “The Leaving” (Ghost Box)
22. Gorillaz – “Let Me Out” (feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T) (Parlophone)
23. Aretha Franklin – “This Little Light of Mine” (Remember)
24. Philippe Hallais – “Hero (Theme)” (Modern Love)
25. Oliver Coates – “Peace” (Foom)
26. Radiohead – “I Promise” (XL Recordings)
27. Murcof & Vanessa Wagner – “Spiegel Im Spiegel” (InFiné)

Fractured Air is an online music webzine based in Cork, Ireland, which focuses on the best of independent music. Having started in July 2012, Fractured Air offers in-depth interviews, insightful reviews, original artwork and frequent mixes (including guest mixes), spanning the broad spectrum of today’s independent music scene.

Compiled by Fractured Air, June 2017. The copyright in these recordings is the property of the individual artists and/or record labels. If you like the music, please support the artist by buying their records.